Creating and Managing Shares
Before you can share an expert, a knowledge database, or an ability, it must be created and saved. Only then will the share button appear.
Also note that you can only share an expert, a knowledge database, or an ability if you created it yourself or have been granted the share permission. Only in this case will the share button appear.
Steps for Sharing
Creating an Expert, Knowledge Database or Ability
Create an expert, a knowledge database, or an ability according to the linked documentation, or select an existing entity that you created yourself or for which you have the share permission.
Granting access
- Click on the "Sharing with other users" button on the detail page of an expert, a knowledge database, or an ability in the settings.
- Choose the permissions that the users or groups should receive.
- If a shared user is allowed to use the expert, knowledge database or ability, the user can use the resource for chatting and view the content.
- If a shared user is allowed to use and edit the expert, knowledge database or ability, the user can use the resource for chatting and edit its configuration (e.g., add files to the knowledge database).
- If a shared user is allowed to use, edit, share, and delete the expert, knowledge database or ability, the user can use the resource for chatting, edit its configuration, share it with other users, and delete it.
- If you are sharing an expert that has linked knowledge databases or abilities, choose whether these should be shared as well. Note that the expert can only be used properly if users also have access to all linked resources.
- Enter the names of the users or groups (e.g. "All") in the search field to whom you want to grant access. Based on your input, suggestions will be displayed.
- If you selected recipients for whom selected resources are already shared, choose what should happen with the existing shares.
- Existing shares can be overwritten with your new settings. This may revoke permissions from the recipients.
- The share with the highest permission level can be selected in each case. This may only upgrade permissions for recipients, never downgrade them.
- Existing shares can be left unchanged. In this case, your settings are ignored where shares already exist.
- Click on the "Share" button to grant access.
When an expert, knowledge database or ability is shared with individual users or an existing share with them is deleted, these users will receive a notification. When sharing with groups, no notification is sent.
Managing and Removing Access
When clicking on the share button in an expert, knowledge database or ability that you created, you can not only grant new shares, but also manage existing access permissions.
Here, you can see the list of users who already have access to the shared expert, knowledge database or ability.
If necessary, you can revoke access for individual users or groups by clicking on the delete icon next to the name of a recipient. This is particularly useful when roles change within your organization or certain users no longer need access.
Managing Shares Centrally
In addition to managing shares from each individual resource, you can review and revoke all your shares centrally in one place. To do so, open the "Shares" section in the settings menu.
To share multiple resources centrally, click on the "Share resources" button. Here you can select one or more resources to share.
Under "Already shared resources", you find an overview of all resources that have already been shared and for which you can manage the shares. The overview can be grouped in two ways:
- Grouped by resource type: The shares are grouped by resource type — experts, knowledge databases, abilities, and chat snapshots — each with the number of shared resources. This lets you quickly see which resources of a certain type you have shared.
- Grouped by shared users: The shares are grouped by the users with whom you have shared resources. Using the search field, you can look for a specific user and see which resources are shared with them.
From this central view, you can review existing shares and, if needed, revoke them the same way as from the individual resource.