Skip to content

Managing Chats

You get an overview of your started chats in Alan in the "Started chats" list in the sidebar on the left side of the screen. You can expand and collapse this list.

The last 10 chats you started are listed chronologically here when you expand the list. The most recently started chat always appears at the top.

To continue a chat you have already started, you can open it by clicking on it and seamlessly resume this conversation with Alan at any time.

Several features help you manage all your chats in Alan:

Search Chats

To see all your started chats in Alan, click on "All chats" or the magnifying glass icon in the "Started chats" list in the sidebar.

In the "All started chats" menu that opens, you get an overview of all chats you have started so far. The chats are sorted chronologically, with the most recently started chat appearing at the top. This lets you quickly access your previous conversations and continue them if needed.

In a chat's details, you also see which experts and knowledge databases were used in that chat.

You can search for specific chats by entering search terms into the search field that appear in the chat titles or in the chat contents. As soon as you start typing, the chats containing your search term are displayed. This lets you quickly find the desired chat, even if you have already started many chats.

Edit Chat

The title and icon of a chat are automatically generated by Alan based on your first prompt. You can, however, manually adjust both at any time. This might be helpful, for instance, to quickly find a chat again when needed.

You can access the corresponding menu via the sidebar in two different ways:

  • To edit the currently open chat, click on the pencil icon at the top of the sidebar: Open Chat Settings 1
  • To edit both open and closed chats, hover over a chat in the "Started chats" list in the sidebar, click on the three dots that appear, and then select "Edit chat": Open Chat Settings 2

The chat edit menu offers the options "Rename chat", "Change chat icon", and "Delete chat". Your changes will be applied after you click "Save" in the chat edit menu.

Export or Share Chat

You can export or share your chats in Alan. There are two ways to do this again:

  • To export or share the currently open chat, click on the share icon at the top of the sidebar: Export Chat 1
  • To export or share both open and closed chats, hover over a chat in the "Started chats" list in the sidebar, click on the three dots that appear, and then select "Share chat": Export Chat 2

In the menu that opens, you can export the chat history or create a chat snapshot.

Export Chat

You have several options to export the chat history from Alan:

  • Copy to Clipboard: The chat history is copied to the clipboard, allowing you to paste it into another application. The chat history is copied in a readable format that can be used in word processors or emails.
  • Download as .txt File: The chat history is downloaded as a .txt file. The content matches what you would copy to the clipboard.
  • Download as .json File: The chat history is downloaded as a .json file. This file contains the chat history in a structured format suitable for further processing or analysis.

Chat Snapshots

To share a chat history in Alan with colleagues, you can use chat snapshots.

A chat snapshot captures the current state of a chat and saves it as a link. By sharing this link with colleagues who are also Alan users, they can access the chat snapshot. They can read the chat history and continue a copy of the chat.

Your original chat, on which the chat snapshot is based, cannot be edited by your colleagues. Other users also will not see any changes you make to your original chat after creating the chat snapshot.

By clicking "Create chat snapshot", a new snapshot is created for a chat. Below that, you see an overview of the chat snapshots created for the current chat. You can create multiple chat snapshots per chat to share the chat history at different points in time. The already created chat snapshots can be viewed, copied as a link, and deleted.

Delete Chat

All your chats with Alan are stored by default and thus remain available to you.

You can, however, manually delete a chat and have several options to do so:

  • Click "Delete chat" in the chat edit menu.
  • Hover over a chat in the "Started chats" list in the sidebar, click on the three dots that appear, and then click on "Delete chat".
  • In the overview of all started chats, click the "Delete multiple chats" option at the bottom. In the menu that opens, you can then select and delete multiple chats at once.

In all cases, you must first confirm the deletion of the chat. Please note that a deleted chat cannot be restored.